The Roscoe General Store building was built in 1870 by John Barkhurst as a drug store and general store. It replaced an 1840 boot and shoe factory that was destroyed by fire. In 1971 the building was restored by Edward and Frances Montgomery and it has been an iconic building and store in Roscoe Village ever since.
Historic Photo – This old picture was taken inside the General Store (which is the John Barkhurst Building – built in1870). In the picture left to right: Joy Le Retilley (customer), Ellsworth Le Retilley, Esther Le Retilley (daughter), Mrs. Stella Minise, Nora Le Ritilley (wife) The original stove is still there!
‘Why is it called Whitewoman Street?’ you may ask.
The name goes back even before the canal times. Mary Harris, a captive of the Indians, was considered the first ‘White Woman’ in the Ohio Country. She and her Indian family settled in a nearby town in 1748. She was so respected by her Indian peers that they named the village where she lived ‘Whitewoman Town’, and the trail leading to the village was called ‘Whitewoman Trail. That trail is today’s Whitewoman Street. (Walhonding is the Indian word for Whitewoman).